Sierra Club Endorsements

Sierra Club San Diego’s Political Committee made a number of important endorsements. The committee evaluated past environmental records of candidates, completed questionnaires and interviews in making these endorsements

We urge you to consider the environment when you vote. Only by electing candidates who share the view of the Sierra Club on the importance of the protection of the environment can we make our state the model for the rest of the nation.

Sierra Club San Diego’s tax exemption status – 501(c)(4) – allows us to make endorsements for candidates and ballot measures.


November 8, 2022 General Election

U.S. Senate
Alex Padilla

U. S. Representative
49th Cong. District – Mike Levin
51st Cong. District – Sara Jacobs
52nd Cong. District – Juan Vargas

State of California
Secretary of State – Dr. Shirley Weber
Attorney General – Rob Bonta
Lieutenant Governor – Eleni Kounalakis
Insurance Commissioner – Ricardo Lara
Superintendent of Public Instruction – Tony Thurmond

State Senate
18th District – Steve Padilla
38th District – Catherine Blakespear

State Assembly
74th District – Chris Duncan
77th District – Tasha Boerner-Horvath
79th District – Akilah Weber
80th District – Georgette Gomez

San Diego Unified School District
Sub-District C – Cody Petterson

San Dieguito Union High School District
Trustee Area 1 – Rimga Viskanta
Trustee Area 3 – Jane Lea Smith

County of San Diego
Board of Supervisors, District 4 – Nathan Fletcher
Board of Supervisors, District 5 – Tiffany-Boyd Hodgson

City of Carlsbad
City Council, District 1 – Sam Ward
City Council, District 3 – Priya Bhat-Patel

City of Del Mar
City Council – Terry Gaasterland
City Council – Dwight Worden

City of Encinitas
Mayor – Tony Kranz
City Council, District 3 – Joy Lyndes

City of Escondido
Mayor – Paul McNamara
City Council, District 1 – Consuelo Martinez
City Council, District 2 – Jeff Griffith

City of Imperial Beach
Mayor – Paloma Aguirre
City Council, District 3 – Anna Webb

City of La Mesa
Treasurer – Matt Strabone

City of National City
Mayor – Jose Rodriguez

City of Oceanside
City Council, District 1 – Eric Joyce
City Council, District 2 – Dan Dominguez

City of Poway
Mayor – Delta Esparza
City Council, District 2 – Hiram Soto

City of San Diego
City Council, District 4 – Monica Montgomery-Steppe
City Council, District 6 – Tommy Hough
City Council, District 8 – Vivian Moreno

City of Solana Beach
City Council, District 2 – Kristi Becker

City of San Marcos

Mayor – Randy Walton
City Council, District 2 – Jay Petrek


City of Vista
Mayor – Cipriano Vargas
City Council, District 4 – Dan O’Donnell

Statewide Propositions

Proposition 1 – Right to Reproductive Freedom AdmendmentYES
Proposition 31 – Flavored Tobacco Products Ban ReferendumYES

Local Measures

Measure B – City of San Diego – Solid Waste Management Services – YES
Measure C – City of San Diego – Exclude the Midway-Pacific Highway Community Plan Area from the 30-Foot Height Limit on Buildings in the Coastal Zone – NO


Paid for by Sierra Club Political Committee,, and not authorized by any candidate or candidate’s committee.