Sierra Club Endorsements

Sierra Club San Diego’s Political Committee made a number of important endorsements. The committee evaluated past environmental records of candidates, completed questionnaires and interviews in making these endorsements

We urge you to consider the environment when you vote. Only by electing candidates who share the view of the Sierra Club on the importance of the protection of the environment can we make our state the model for the rest of the nation.

Sierra Club San Diego’s tax exemption status – 501(c)(4) – allows us to make endorsements for candidates and ballot measures.

June 7, 2022 Special Election

State Assembly

LOSS – 80th District – Georgette Gomez


June 7, 2022 Primary Election

U.S. Senate
WIN – Alex Padilla

U. S. Representative
WIN – 49th Cong. District – Mike Levin
WIN – 52nd Cong. District – Juan Vargas

State of California
WIN – Secretary of State – Dr. Shirley Weber
WIN – Attorney General – Rob Bonta
WIN – Lieutenant Governor – Eleni Kounalakis
WIN – Insurance Commissioner – Ricardo Lara
WIN – Superintendent of Public Instruction – Tony Thurmond

State Senate
WIN – 38th District – Catherine Blakespear

State Assembly
WIN – 77th District – Tasha Boerner-Horvath
WIN – 79th District – Akilah Weber
WIN – 80th District – Georgette Gomez

County of San Diego
WIN – Board of Supervisors, District 4 – Nathan Fletcher

City of San Diego
WIN – City Council, District 4 – Monica Montgomery-Steppe
WIN – City Council, District 6 – Tommy Hough

November 8, 2022 General Election

County of San Diego
Board of Supervisors, District 5 – Tiffany-Boyd Hodgson

City of Carlsbad
City Council, District 3 – Priya Bhat-Patel

City of San Marcos

Mayor – Randy Walton


City of Vista

Mayor – Cipriano Vargas



Paid for by Sierra Club Political Committee,, and not authorized by any candidate or candidate’s committee.